The Good Mother by Cathryn Grant

⭐⭐⭐⭐

Description

Amy’s life is picture perfect. Mess with that picture – you’re going to pay.

Amy’s life is close to perfect – two lovely daughters, a wonderful husband and she’s queen bee in her circle of soccer moms. She feels content, like she’s finally put some distance between herself and the terrible events of long ago.

The only fly in the ointment is Charlotte, a recent arrival to this affluent suburban community. The shameless way she dresses, the way the men look at her… it’s not right, she’s just not the kind of person they want around here.

Amy spearheads a drive to exclude Charlotte, to make it clear to her that she’s not welcome here. Infuriatingly, Charlotte doesn’t seem to care… And when her daughter joins the soccer team there’s just no getting away from her.

But Amy knows from bitter experience the kind of trouble a woman like Charlotte can bring. And there is no way on earth that her girls are ever going to be exposed to anything like that. The solution is clear – Charlotte has to go. No matter what it takes.

The gripping domestic thriller for fans of Liane Moriarty, T. M. Logan, and Sally Hepworth.

Advance Praise

“This one had me in its grip from the shocking opening to the terrifying ending”

“Almost unbearably tense – the harrowing tale of a woman on the edge”

My Review

Although this one left a little to be desired, I did enjoy the work of adding an additional villain to the mix to shake it up a bit and it no doubt offered a nice to twist to the plot!

Amy is on the verge of a breakdown, she’s paranoid, and filled with wine and assumptions so when Charlotte moves into town, it turns Amy’s world on it’s head. Having never dealt with her demons, Amy is out to get anyone who doesn’t fit into her neat little community life, but she fails to see that her undoing is a direct cause by her own actions that just so happen to almost bring down her best-friends too.

Rachel, Amy’s biggest supporter and best friend is weak at best. I hate to describe her that way, but she lacks the backbone needed to stand up to her friend if not to save her than to at least protect her own family.

Then you have Charlotte, relocated to the area after her own life implodes has no idea that the women in her new community will be more to reckon with than her previous life. Confronted with Amy’s wild accusations and threats, she does her best to stand up for herself without ruffling more feathers. After all, her crime is just being herself…that’s enough to throw Amy over the edge!

Although I did enjoy the plot and could relate to the characters, especially Charlotte, I felt there was something lacking. I wish the author had developed Amy a bit more, made her a little more likable in the beginning to that I felt I had some connection to her. However, overall I thought it was refreshing with a special twist at the end!