The Guest by Cathryn Grant


cathryngrantcathryngrant

Description

She told him to make himself at home. He did. 

Life has been good to Ellie – she owns a successful art gallery, is deeply in love with her husband, Seth, and has two beautiful children, Brandon and Simone.    

But not everything is perfect… 

Lately, Seth seems to have something on his mind and has become cold and distant. And things don’t improve when he invites the mysterious stranger Ace to stay in their home. 

Ace is charming, but Ellie can’t help feeling there’s more to him than meets the eye, that he has some kind of agenda. She’s also aware that she is dangerously attracted to him.  

Then a girl at Brandon’s school is murdered, and Ellie is beyond devastated when the police tell her they think her son might be involved. 

Ellie knows in her heart that Brandon is innocent and she feels certain that Ace is somehow connected to the disturbing things that are happening. She starts to dig for the truth and uncovers the terrible secret that will change her life in ways she can’t imagine… 

The stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of K. L. Slater, Teresa Driscoll, and Andrew Hart. 

My Review

It took a bit to get into this one. I felt there was too much happening between the mysterious stranger staying under the same roof as Ellie and Seth’s suddenly weird secretive behavior, only to top it off with a murder of a young girl that Ellie’s son might be involved in. He could even be the killer and is a suspect causing Ellie’s world to melt around her. Nothing is as she thought it was, all wrapped up in a bow. Her life is burns and the ashes are floating down around her.

Even though it took some time and there was a lot going on, I loved the way it was wrapped up towards the end and definitely had a lot of twists and turns!

Thank you to Netgalley, Inkubator Books, and Cathryn Grant for the ARC!

About Cathryn Grant

Cathryn is the author of 24 novels: PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLERS/DOMESTIC SUSPENSE: The Guest, The Good Mother, The Good Neighbor, She’s Listening. THE ALEXANDRA MALLORY SERIES: The Woman In the Mirror, The Woman In the Water, The Woman In the Painting, The Woman In the Window, The Woman In the Bar, The Woman In the Bedroom, The Woman In the Dark, The Woman In the Cellar, The Woman In the Photograph, The Woman In the Storm. The Woman In the Taxi. SUBURBAN NOIR NOVELS: Buried By Debt, The Suburban Abyss, The Hallelujah Horror Show, Getting Ahead, Faceless, An Affair With God. THE HAUNTED SHIP TRILOGY: Alone On the Beach, Slipping Away From the Beach, Haunting the Beach.

She’s also the author of the Madison Keith Ghost Story series.

She’s currently working on a new psychological thriller as well as the eleventh book in the Alexandra Mallory psychological suspense series — The Woman In the Taxi.

Cathryn Grant’s short fiction has appeared in Alfred Hitchcock and Ellery Queen Mystery Magazines, The Shroud Quarterly Journal, and been anthologized in The Best of Every Day Fiction. Her short story, “I Was Young Once”, received an honorable mention in the 2007 Zoetrope All-story Short Fiction contest.

Her psychological suspense fiction reveals the motives and desires that lead to suburban crime. Her Suburban Noir novels, ghost story novellas, and short fiction have been described as “making the mundane menacing”.

When she’s not writing, Cathryn reads, eavesdrops, and tries to play golf without hitting her ball in the sand or the water. She lives on the central California coast with her husband and two cats.

Visit her website at cathryngrant.com

Twitter http://twitter.com/cathryngrant

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.