I’ve recently finished two books this week that I have to write reviews for still, but I didn’t want to hold back some reads that are coming out this week from my ARC list.

Released January 14th

The Last Sister
by Kendra Elliot

Description

Three sisters’ secrets collide in a shocking novel of suspense by the Wall Street Journal and Amazon Charts bestselling author of the Mercy Kilpatrick series.

Twenty years ago Emily Mills’s father was murdered, and she found his body hanging in the backyard. Her younger sister, Madison, claims she was asleep in her room. Her older sister, Tara, claims she was out with friends. The tragedy drove their mother to suicide and Tara to leave town forever. The killer was caught. The case closed.

Ever since, Emily and Madison have tried to forget what happened that night—until an eerily similar murder brings it all back. It also brings FBI special agent Zander Wells to the Oregon logging town. As eager as he is to solve the brutal double slaying, he is just as intrigued with the mystery of Emily’s and her sisters’ past.

When more blood is shed, Zander suspects there’s a secret buried in this town no one wants unearthed. Is it something Emily and Madison don’t know? Or aren’t telling? And Tara? Maybe Emily can’t bear to find her. Because when Tara disappeared, she took a secret of her own with her.


Released January 14th, 2020

The Prized Girl
by Amy K. Green

Description

From debut author Amy K. Green comes a devastating tale of psychological suspense: a teen pageant queen is found murdered in a small New England town, and her sister’s search for answers unearths more than she bargained for.

Days after a young pageant queen named Jenny is found murdered, her small town grieves the loss alongside her picture-perfect parents. At first glance, Jenny’s tragic death appears clear-cut for investigators. The most obvious suspect is one of her fans, an older man who may have gotten too close for comfort. But Jenny’s half-sister, Virginia—the sarcastic black sheep of the family—isn’t so sure of his guilt and takes matters into her own hands to find the killer.

But for Jenny’s case and Virginia’s investigation, there’s more to the story. Virginia, still living in town and haunted by her own troubled teenage years, suspects that a similar darkness lay beneath the sparkling veneer of Jenny’s life. Alternating between Jenny’s final days and Virginia’s determined search for the truth, the sisters’ dual narratives follow a harrowing trail of suspects, with surprising turns that race toward a shocking finale.

Infused with dark humor and driven by two captivating young women, The Prized Girl tells a heartbreaking story of missed connections, a complicated family, and a town’s disturbing secrets.

Advance Praise

“Gripping prose, complex characters and dark family secrets propel this story about a murdered teen pageant queen to a perfectly unexpected finale. A stunning debut!” —Wendy Walker, bestselling author of The Night Before

“So fun and gritty! Couldn’t put it down, and then couldn’t stop thinking about it once I finished.” —Georgia Hardstark, My Favorite Murder co-host and #1 New York Times bestselling author

“At times funny, at times haunting, The Prized Girl is a raw, beautiful page-turner; the perfect whodunit for today’s world. Green’s compelling characters step off the page and into your heart.” —Bryan Reardon, New York Times bestselling author of Finding Jake and The Perfect Plan


Released January 15th, 2020

One Last Child
by Anni Taylor

Tallman’s Valley Detectives Book 1

Description

It was summer in the mountains when five small children vanished from their nursery school picnic. The heat was stifling that day, the tinkle of an ice-cream van in the air.

Three and a half years later, in the dead of winter, the children are returned to their families… one by one.
All except for Ivy – the granddaughter of homicide detective Kate Wakeland. The other four children say Ivy is dead.

Speculation grows that the kidnappings were revenge for an offender that Detective Wakeland put in jail years before.

She engages in a battle of wits between herself, the kidnapper and the cold, vast expanse of mountains in between.


Releases today – January 16th, 2020

The Stranger’s Wife by Anna-Lou Weatherley

Description

Beth and Cath are leaving their husbands.

This is a story about two very different women.

One is wealthy and having an affair with a man who gives her the kind of love that her cold, detached husband does not.

One is living hand to mouth, suffering at the hands of a violent partner who would rather see her dead than leave him.

You may think you know these women already and how their lives will unfold.

Beth will live happily ever after with her little girl and her soulmate.

Cath will go back to her abusive husband.

And these two women will never cross paths.

But you will be wrong.

On the 3.15pm train from London to Bristol, Beth and Cath are about to meet and discover they share one shocking thing in common.

A clever, engrossing and absolutely unputdownable page-turner of a read about what really lies beneath the surface of a marriage. Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will be hooked on The Stranger’s Wife.

Advance Praise

Read what everyone is saying about Anna-Lou Weatherley:

‘A…….maz……..ing, what a fantastic book, loved every word on every page, a great psychological thriller that held my interest throughout and I didn’t want it to end… I could carry on raving about this book but just read it for yourself, I can definitely recommend, you will not be disappointed.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

‘Gripping, page-turner, disturbing, just a few words I would use to describe this fantastic read! I loved this book, it reminded me of The Girl on the Train and quickly became one of my new favorites!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘Ten stars for being able to keep me up until 4 a.m. I just HAD to finish this book! I cannot begin to describe how riveting this novel was. Great writing, characterizations, plot, timing, suspense – it has it all. Trust me, you will NOT be able to put it down until you finish reading it. So many mediocre thrillers out there that this one hit me like a ton of bricks. Absolutely SUPERB!’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

‘What an explosive read… this is a loop the loop rollercoaster of a ride, you better strap in and get ready, your head will be spinning trying to keep up with all the twists, betrayals, friendships, heartache, loss… this book has it all, puts a whole new meaning on the term psychological thriller!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘Flipping heck! It’s a while since I’ve raced through a book like this, so engrossed that I literally did nothing today except read. I was caught from the very first line and it wouldn’t let me go… The story is so well written, the characters so fleshed out and real, it was like watching a movie in my mind. excellent stuff!’ Rona Halsall, 5 stars

‘An awesome mystery that kept me guessing and guessing… The author has the ability to connect the reader with the characters and the story immediately. It’s a winner!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘I fell for this book within the first chapter! Anna-Lou Weatherley kept me guessing until the last chapter!… I read it in a few sittings. Highly recommend!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘A fantastic psychological thriller…This book is a gripping page-turner, brilliantly written and full of secrets and lies.’ Goodreads Reviewer

‘I read a lot of thrillers and this was so much more believable than any other thriller I have read this year… I was very intrigued and finished it in one day and could not put it down.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘Reminded me a lot of The Girl on the Train but more disturbing… A definite page-turner!!’ Goodreads Reviewer

‘Wow!!!… Trust me, this is one you don’t want to miss—it’s going to be huge!’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.